Q and A with The Shoreham Inn on using social media

This is the second in an ongoing series of Inns and Lodging using social media to help their businesses. If you missed the last interview, please visit Q and A with Hopton House Bed and Breakfast on using social media or for more interviews visit Marketing For Lodging (towards the bottom)

Inn Name: The Shoreham Inn

Address: 51 Inn Road, Shoreham VT 05770

Website: http://www.shorehaminn.com

Twitter: http://twitter.com/theshorehaminn

Blog: http://shorehaminn.com/psst/

Facebook Fan Page Address: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Shoreham-VT/The-Shoreham-Inn/42759112644

How long have you been using social media?

We’ve had a FB fan page for a couple of years, I think. We’ve been on twitter for about a year and a half.

Of the social media venues out there, which do you like the most?

I like twitter for communicating with virtual colleagues, as well as potential guests. I like FB for communicating directly to people who know this place, I think most of our ‘fans’ have been here, many of them very frequently, so it feels more like updating ‘family’, where twitter feels like a place for reeling in new people as well just getting to trade info with others in the industries I identify ourselves with.

Of the social media venues out there, which do you use the most?

I am on twitter most often, the short, sharp updates make it something to do a few times a day.

Of the social media venues out there, which do you feel you get the most from in terms in terms of SEO (search engine optimization)?

Probably the blog. Because it takes more thought, I get to it less often, though I do try and make a new post weekly. During our busy season I have stumbled down on that goal a few times.

Of the social media venues out there, which do you feel you get the most from in terms of business and personal branding?

The website has to be king of them all, really. It’s where we present a whole front that hopefully communicates a pretty clear idea of who and what we are all about. Twitter adds to that nicely, by having a link and mini-steam of tweets on the blog page, I feel like it keeps the website active and alive daily.

Of the social media venues out there, which do you feel you get the most from in terms of actual ROTI (return on time investment) business?

hmmm, I get lots of nice compliments on my blog posts, but for back and forth noticing of me and my place of business, I think twitter has to win.

How long did it take you to feel comfortable using social media?

Pretty quick – I’m old enough to not have grown up with it, but I’m comfortable with computers, etc, so it feels pretty natural.

Do you market your property on social media channels? and if so which ones?

Not sure what you mean here – we don’t market directly with anything I would identify as a ‘social media channel’

If you use social media for things besides advertising, which ones do you use for other aims, i.e. twitter for making connections rather then advertising or a blog to be informative to guests and future guests.

Exactly – I blog to keep current, past and future guests informed about our little slice of heaven here in VT. And I really like twitter for connecting me with other innkeepers, restaurant people, bakers, etc. Not necessarily future guests, but connections that are fun for me to have in a small business like ours. I also believe in the pure power of just getting our name out there, to whomever it gets to – you never know where a room referral is going to come from.

How many hours on average a day do you spend using social media (or per week or per month)?

Maybe 1/2 hour – 1 hour a day? Sometimes a lot less, sometimes more.

Do you feel the time you have spent using social media has been worth it? And why?

Yes. Like I said a little above this, I think getting our name out and around and being active are part of what makes this come across a vibrant, vital business, and that shows to future guests, whatever piece of the process they encounter.

If you’re an inn using social media and you have felt that social media has helped your business positively, send me an email at forfengdesigns@gmail.com and I’ll pop you over the questions. I’ll be doing at least one feature a week for the I can forsee ongoing future. Cheers!

Share

About Chef Forfeng

Innkeeping Tip and Tricks: Please check out some marketing ideas for Inns and B&Bs, Blogging ideas, Facebook Tips and Social Media Tutorials https://chefforfeng.wordpress.com/marketing-for-lodging-resources/
This entry was posted in Hospitality News, Interviews, marketing, Observations, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

