Q and A with Adobe Nido Bed and Breakfast on using social media marketing

This is the nineth in an ongoing series of Inns and Lodging using social media to help their businesses. If you missed the last interview, please visit Q and A with The Baur Bed and Breakfast on using social media on using social media or for more interviews visit Marketing For Lodging (towards the bottom)

Inn/B&B Name: Adobe Nido Bed and Breakfast

Address: Albuquerque, New Mexico

Website Address: http://www.adobenido.com

Twitter Address: http://twitter.com/ABQSarahBnB

Blog Address: http://adobenido.com/blog

Facebook Fan Page Address: http://www.facebook.com/AdobeNido

How long have you been using social media?

My first Social media experiment was myspace, back in 2006, so I guess about 4 years or so.

Of the social media venues out there, which do you like the most?

I  believe that of all the social media, being consumer generated media, the web log, or blog is my absolute favorite. My Google homepage is filled with feed links to my favorite blogs. I know…I should get a life.

Of the social media venues out there, which do you use the most?

Blogging and Facebook.

Of the social media venues out there, which do you feel you get the most from in terms in terms of SEO (search engine optimization)?

My blog, without a doubt.  My website statistics show that my blog is sending me a ton of traffic. Next would be Facebook.

Of the social media venues out there, which do you feel you get the most from in terms of business and personal branding?

My blog and Facebook.

Of the social media venues out there, which do you feel you get the most from in terms of actual ROTI (return on time investment) business?

Blogging.

How long did it take you to feel comfortable using social media?

About an hour. Maybe two.

Do you market your property on social media channels? and if so which ones? if not, why not?

Besides ads on Facebook, I only use social media for visability and to draw people to my town and my website. I have a very small inn, and I  am as busy as I want to be most of the time. I just want to stay visable and desirable and to not fall behind on the latest consumer trends. I don’t want to fade into internet oblivion – I want to stay visable.vI am linked in on Twitter, Linked In, Merchant Circle, Trip Advisor (as a local contributor), Four Square, Yelp, the Duke City Fix (local social media).  Do I actively market my inn on these venues? No.

If you use social media for things besides advertising, which ones do you use for other aims, i.e. twitter for making connections rather then advertising or a blog to be informative to guests and future guests.

I blog for my present and future guests. I don’t do newsletters. Who really reads them? I don’t. I have enough to do. I use also Facebook to kkep up with old friends and socialize and family.

How many hours on average a day do you spend using social media (or per week or per month)?

Probably 10-15 hour per week. Maybe more

Do you feel the time you have spent using social media has been worth it?

And why? I think so, because it is important to me not to loose my place on the internet. I have to stay on top of the latest technology to survive. I consider my market to include the 25 to 55 crowd. They depend on the internet. They utilize social media.

Please add any other comments you think are relevant.

Not enough empahsis has been placed on the importance of local social media venues. Google Places is not the end all for local business on the internet. In these times it is very important to find a local venue, where people are meeting, voicing opinions, posting events. Not every inn will have this kind of local meeting place online, but if you do, you must be a part of it!

If you’re an inn using social media and you have felt that social media has helped your business positively, send me an email at forfengdesigns@gmail.com and I’ll pop you over the questions. I’ll be doing at least one feature a week for the I can forsee ongoing future. Cheers!

About Chef Forfeng

Innkeeping Tip and Tricks: Please check out some marketing ideas for Inns and B&Bs, Blogging ideas, Facebook Tips and Social Media Tutorials https://chefforfeng.wordpress.com/marketing-for-lodging-resources/
This entry was posted in Hospitality News, Interviews, marketing, Observations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Q and A with Adobe Nido Bed and Breakfast on using social media marketing

  1. Well done! Love this article. 🙂

Leave a Reply

