Innkeepers, Pinning Posts? Be Careful of the Date!

I noticed something last week that should have been blindingly obvious to me and probably to everyone else out there, but I seem to see a lot of businesses doing this on Facebook, Twitter and Google+ and perhaps not even realizing it. I pinged to it myself last week, when showing someone the ins and outs of Google+ (logged in as themselves) and we visited my own personal Google+ page and my client said, “Hey, you haven’t posted anything since November, and your telling me to post frequently?” I said, “No, wait, I do post fairly often on my personal page and many times daily on my business page!” Hmm!

Google+ Pinned Post (Stays Pinned until you take it down) Snap of what the page looks like only above the fold.google+ pinned post

It took me a minute to realize that we were above the fold of my Google page and we hadn’t scrolled down so the last “actual” post, so to someone coming to my page for the first time it’s backdated several months, and looks like I haven’t posted in awhile. I started doing some searches on various platforms and came across lots of instances where posts on Google+ and Twitter were months old but much more frequent posts were made on the pages/accounts but not visible until (and more importantly IF someone scrolled down to look). I’ve also come across several inn’s and other business Facebook pages guilty of repinning once a week, a post that was months and months old.

Facebook Pinned Post (Stays Pinned for a Week and you can repin as many time as you want to, again for a week at a time) Snap of what the page looks like only above the fold.fb pinned post

While I love the ability of all three platforms to pin posts to the top, I think inns need to be cognizant of what it looks like from the external viewer, i.e. someone coming to visit your page or account for the first time. I love Twitter for example and I almost didn’t follow back an inn that recently followed me as the last time it “looked” like they posted was 4 months ago (Pinned to top tweet above the fold) and in actuality they had posted about an hour before.

 Twitter Pinned Post (Stays Pinned until you take it down) Snap of what the page looks like only above the fold.twitter pin

I think inns need to use the option wisely and if it’s an important post that they want to draw attention to, repost the original with a more recent date and time stamp. Who knows how many potential Likes/Followers or Fans you’ve lost because it doesn’t look like your accounts are active even if you are.

A nice little post on how to pin to top Tweets and Post from my favorite people at BufferApp https://blog.bufferapp.com/best-practices-how-to-pin-tweet-facebook

About Chef Forfeng

Innkeeping Tip and Tricks: Please check out some marketing ideas for Inns and B&Bs, Blogging ideas, Facebook Tips and Social Media Tutorials https://chefforfeng.wordpress.com/marketing-for-lodging-resources/
This entry was posted in B&B, How tos, Inns, Observations, Social Media and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Innkeepers, Pinning Posts? Be Careful of the Date!

  1. Andrew Carriere says:

    Very clever note – thanks for sharing!

  2. Fiona says:

    Thanks – good point. I had noticed that and took my pins down, as I regularly update – usually daily – so didn’t want to appear “old”! Now I will monitor more closely.

    ​ Regards, Fiona

    Gwaenynog Farmhouse B&B, Campsite & Wedding Venue

    http://www.gwaenynog.com 01938 810236 07737 360104

    On 18 February 2015 at 13:02, Chefforfeng’s Weblog wrote:

    > Chef Forfeng posted: “I noticed something last week that > should have been blindingly obvious to me and probably to everyone else out > there, but I seem to see a lot of businesses doing this on Facebook, > Twitter and Google+ and perhaps not even realizing it. I pinged to it > mysel”

Leave a Reply

